Posted by: vwbusguy | October 13, 2008

Faith and Freedom

This is a new blog dedicated to the rantings of a Fedora contributor, who happens to also be an evangelical with diverse political views.

I found that I had a hard time with posting opinion blogs with my last blog, because it was frankly more of a keep-people-updated blog.  Since the advent of Facebook and MySpace, the need ofr such a blog has passed.

I hope to focus on topics related to my faith and freedom – in software, and elsewhere.

“For you were called to freedom, brethren; only do not turn your freedom into an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.  For the whole Law is fulfilled in one word, in the statement, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.'”

Galatians 5:13-14 (NASB)


Responses

  1. please use some sort of tags to keep your faith posts off planet fedora. i’m sure lots of folks would be interested in your posts about fedora on planet fedora but not necessarily your faith.

  2. cdd,

    The RSS I set up for .planet will only put the posts in here under the category of Fedora. That way any posts specifically relating to politics or otherwise not relating to Fedora will not be on Planet.

    There is some small overlap on these things, but I will not be using Fedora Planet as my soapbox for unrelated things.

    ~Scott

  3. Always good to see a fellow Christian fedora/open-source advocate🙂

  4. I am impressed by the contributions of the evangelicals I’ve met to date. A lot of synergies between the service mentality of evangelicals and the service mentality of free software advocates.

  5. Hi Scott —

    It was great to finally meet you at OLF, and I look forward to working with you to help promote Fedora throughout Indiana! Hehe, I started a weblog too as an outcome to OLF.

  6. pascalcalarco,

    Great! Send me a link to your blog and I’ll add a link to it.

  7. Greg Dek,

    I agree very much. Especially concepts like loving your neighbor as yourself and social justice seem to fit well with the goals of the open source community.

    That’s a big part of the reason I love Fedora – the dedication to 100% F/OSS.

  8. Good post! If it wasn’t for Fedora Planet I would have not have seen it.

  9. Hi Scott —

    http://pascalcalarco.wordpress.com/

    Thx! I shall add a link to you as well.

    – pascal

  10. It was great meeting you at Ohio Linux Fest this past weekend. I hope you won’t feel a need to divorce your Fedora posts completely from your personal faith. The planet is about expressing the diversity of views and interests of Fedora folks. Although we try to keep it oriented on Fedora and free software issues, having people with strong beliefs of all kinds involved in Fedora makes it a diverse and vigorous (if sometimes boisterous) community. We have people of every political, social, cultural, and religious bent in our community and that’s what makes it special.

  11. Thanks, Paul! I imagine I will have some blog posts overlap, between politics, faith, and Fedora. Net neutrality is a big issue right now!

    That was part of the reason why I wanted to get on Planet, because it is really interesting seeing how Fedora is involved in other cultures and backgrounds around the world. it really helps give it a sense that we are apart of a very large community and we have the opportunity to change the world with what we are doing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

